Flu? So Not Fabulous

OK, so I can’t categorically say that the lurg I had was flu, but it was close. I spent most of the weekend in bed. If I wasn’t in bed I was lounging on the sofa catching up on cookery shows, or in the bath – trying to soak those aches and pains away. The lurg invaded my body on Wednesday and started with a slightly tickly throat. By Friday my throat was killing me and I was left unable to speak and making a delightful (?) clicky noise every time I swallowed.

I seem to have become a pro at this ‘being ill’ thing. This marks the third lurg I’ve had in nine weeks. All with the same symptoms. Some would say it’s a sign of something else. My doctor just says I’m just ‘unlucky’ and keep catching different viral infections. Joy!

Either way, I’m sick of being sick. So starting today I am trying to boost my immune system in a way that, whilst not scientifically proven, I think might work for me, which is why…

sunrise?

I’m up at this ungodly hour – 6am to be precise. I had a nice romantic notion that I would sit at the laptop writing my blog whilst looking out of the juliet balcony and watching the sunrise. Tsk, it’s still the middle of the night out there! But one has to get up early to fit all this healthy malarkey in it would seem…

Drinking a vitamin C drink. OK, so there is some science here. The doctor recommended I take 1000mg of vitamin c and zinc everyday to ward off any other nasties. According to the packaging on my chosen vitamin c supplement, the body is unable to store vitamin c for any length of time and therefore it needs to be replenished.

Taking Echinacea – jury is out on this one. It’s a herbal cold remedy which the doctor suggested. Not two things which usually go together.

Drinking green tea/trying to cut down on my caffeine intake – s’gotta help surely?

breakfast

Eating porridge – known for its cholestrohl beating properties, anyone who knows me in real life will know that me eating breakfast at all is an amazing feat. I tend to be a grab something ‘on the go’ kinda gal most days.

Catching the bus to work – whilst I sort my finances so I can purchase my dream car (my dream car being one that has four wheels and drives) I have been walking to work. Now whilst walking (a very hilly) two miles to work and back has gotta be healthy as the weather has become decidedly chilly and down-right soggy I thought it wasn’t the best plan for someone who evidently already has a cr*p immune system. So this week I’ll be experimenting as to which bus route gets me to work the quickest and the smoothest (I know my life is just full of glamour).

Doing the Tara Stiles 7-week-plan. OK so I’m a little late to the party. But being a (lapsed) lover of yoga – following a feel-good programme has gotta help hasn’t it..? Hasn’t it?

I’ll let you know if I’m blowing my nose into Kleenex Balsam again before the year is out.

What are your stay-well strategies?

Leave a Reply

