Fiction: Book Review: When I Fall in Love by Miranda Dickinson

I’ll level with you I purchased this book for two reasons…

1. I wanted a ‘Christmassy’ book to read over the festive period

2. I believe I used to live in the same street as the author and I was intrigued to read a book by a local lass

Don’t let the snowy cover fool you, it’s not a ‘Christmassy’ book at all (darn marketers and the clever tricks they play). What it is, is a great read.

Think chick-lit in the vein of Sophie Kinsella. Yes, a nice easy read, but with enough substance for you to care about the characters and want to find out what happens next. Plus, it’s set in Brighton which is one of my favourite places in the whole wide world.

It’s actually really difficult to write a review of this book without giving away substantial parts of the plot and I don’t want to spoil it for potential readers. What I will say is when Elsie, the books main character, finds herself alone she takes comfort in the past but finds that doing what comes easiest isn’t always the right choice. There’s awkward dates, difficult run-in’s and plenty of disasters averted all written in a suitably witty style.

The feel good factor oozes off the pages and reminds you that sometimes when life is at its scariest you’ve just got to jump in with both feet and hope for the best.

Best enjoyed with a packet of chocolate hob nobs and a huge mug of tea.

Fabulous rating: 4/5

Fancy a read? Get When I Fall in Love by Miranda Dickinson from Amazon.co.uk

One thought on “Fiction: Book Review: When I Fall in Love by Miranda Dickinson

  1. Pingback: Fun: Don’t Let Blue Monday Get You Down | Fabulous and other f* words

Leave a Reply

