Fashion: A Frosty Make-up Look

Hat

Last Saturday we took a stroll – which turned into more of a shuffle thanks to the snow – into town to pick up some essentials. I’d woken up in a snow, work and migraine hangover induced grump so felt the need to ‘put my face’ on to cheer me up. I put on some tunes and, inspired by the wintry weather, created this frosty, apres-ski kinda look.

Now, I’m no make-up artist and my skin isn’t perfect, so please don’t look at these pictures and think ‘who does she think she is?‘. She already knows that she’s a fool with bad skin and a bunch of make-up brushes but I thought I would share…

DSCN3689

I started by priming my skin with The Body Shop Skin Primer – Matte It. I suffer with very greasy skin and swear by this stuff for giving my make-up some staying power. It also hides imperfections and feels really lovely and silky to use.

I then covered my skin with foundation using my fingers. I used L’Oreal Infallible in Rose Beige which gives great coverage and is very long-wearing.

Next up I covered over some of my spots with Rimmel Hide the Blemish Concealer in Sand, before trying to hide those migraine-induced bags with YSL Touche Eclat in shade 2.

A touch of powder (Natural Collection in warm – a bargain at £1.99 and really good) to set my base and then it was onto the colour…DSCN3695

I cracked open my Urban Decay Naked 2 palette and smothered Bootycall all over my lids.

Then I curled my lashes with my Ruby & Millie eyelash curler and applied a couple of coats of Urban Decay Lush Lash Mascara (amazing stuff – it doesn’t even smudge when I have eye examinations with lots and lots of eye drops). Add a slick of Clinique eye liner in 01 Black Diamond to the lower lids.

A sweep of a Rimmel eyebrow pencil through the brows – sorry any further details are a mystery as the details have worn away on the pencil. It’s a nice natural, warm brown shade if that’s any help (not really).Bourjois blusher

Then a sweep of Bourjois Delice de Poudre Bronzing Powder in shade 51 across the contours of my cheeks, my chin, my nose and my forehead to try to get that ‘yah, I’ve been on the slopes all day don’cha know‘ look. Before adding a sweep of Bourjois blusher in Rose Ambre to the apples of my cheeks.

DSCN3690

As my lips are particularly rosy I popped a small amount of concealer onto them before slapping on some Boots No. 17 in Blondie and then I was good to go.

Frosty, fun and fabulous…

DSCN3681

2 thoughts on “Fashion: A Frosty Make-up Look

  1. Looks really lovely and sparkly 🙂 (Love the hat btw!) I will try the matte cream you suggest by the body shop, thank you! it is hard to find a good cream for mixed skin and I personally I have to keep changing it every few months to get any results, not sure why 😦

Leave a Reply

