Fact: I’m Getting Old

I was starting to write a catch up entry about what I’ve been up to since going AWOL on the blog. As I began typing I realised something.

I’m getting old.

Yes, yes, I know we’re all ageing. But I guess it just hadn’t occurred to me how much my life has changed.

My post work beverage of choice! #old

A post shared by Samantha Heathcock (@samheathcock) on

I’ve never really been one for reaching for the vino when I get back from the office. But likewise, I never used to reach for the kettle either. Now a cup of Earl Grey is my welcome home treat.

Addicted to these at the moment!

A post shared by Samantha Heathcock (@samheathcock) on

And if I need a little pre-dinner snack while I wait for hubby to return from work? Oh yes, I’ll have some olives please.

Next time I'm struggling to make my mind up in the wine aisle of Sainsbury's remind me of this! #superyum

A post shared by Samantha Heathcock (@samheathcock) on

In fact, when I do decide to participate in a little drinky-poos gone are the days of downing Smirnoff Ice and vodka and orange juice. Oh no, make it a nice glass of Shiraz or a G&T now please.

Shangri La Rasa Ria Borneo

I flick through a travel supplement free with a glossy mag and realise I’ve been to one of the featured five-star resorts and have considered a few others. What happened to Club 18-30 self-catering holidays in the Med?

After seeing the concert from Vienna on TV on New Years Day I am desperate to attend a classical concert. I pick up a leaflet about this from Symphony Hall. The last time I went there was to see a Jimmy Carr stand-up gig and I think the time before that was an East 17 concert.

I don’t mind getting old. I think I actually quite like it. But it is amazing how the things you thought you would never find yourself doing you now do on a daily basis. The other theory of course is that I’m not getting older I’m just becoming more middle class?

Leave a Reply

