Fundamentals: I Need a Routine

Image credit: themerrymumy.blogspot.co.uk

I’m not a great fan of routine…

Saying that, I’m not a great fan of the polar opposite either. In fact, as I find myself increasingly dashing around trying to locate items, constantly being late and being painfully aware that I could be achieving more each day if only I were a little better organised – well it made me think that perhaps routine isn’t such a bad thing after all?

The concept of routine isn’t completely alien to me. I have the basic structure in place. I manage to get myself to work and remember to put on clean underwear each day. But a cursory glance at my list of aspirations for 2013 tells me that if I want to be looking at a page full of ticks come 31st December 2013 I need to pull my finger out. I’d love to use the old excuse that there aren’t enough hours in the day, but to be honest there probably are, I just need to make better use of them.

Once I’d realised that routines weren’t so bad after all. I took action. That is to say, I looked to Google for inspiration. Back came the search results: charts to help kids remember their pre-school routines, business blogs telling me to only check my emails at set periods during the day, housewife style blogs which scared the sweet bejaysus out of me by suggesting almost ritualistic cleaning routines and more colour coding than a Dulux paint chart.

To quote Sinatra. If I was going to do this, I was going to have to do it ‘my way’. Picking and choosing the tips I liked from the web and intermingling them with a system which works for me. I’ll talk you through my strategy and my progress in a series of blog posts. But before I began I wondered if anyone has any top tips for routines? Is there something you do which works for you? Are you an OCD list maker or a free spirit? Hope do you keep on top of the day-to-day without sucking the spontaneity out of life? Leave a comment, I’d love to know…

Leave a Reply

