Feel Good: And Breathe…

Image Credit: Food Matters

After a very busy start to the week (all work, work, work I’m afraid) it’s nice to be able to find the time to stop and take a breath.

So, it’s rather apt that this week coincides with the Oprah & Deepak 21-day Meditation Challenge. OK, so I’m a little behind having only just completed day one, when the rest of the challengees are on day three, but I like to think that meditation gurus aren’t big on keeping score and don’t mind a little tardiness.

Meditation is one of those things that I always mean to do. A bit like how I always mean to have perfectly polished nails in the latest hue, but very rarely do. When I’ve taken yoga classes in the past I’ve always enjoyed that last ten to fifteen minutes where the Yogi leads the class through a guided meditation, but when I try to meditate solo I find myself distracted by random thoughts and unable to centre myself. Which is why I’m loving this challenge. OK, so I’ve only done day one so far, but my early enthusiasm has to be commended, surely?

Deepak, who has an instantly soothing voice, gives an overview of the days teaching before leading you into a guided meditation. Today was all about health and it was utter bliss, and just what I needed after my hustley, bustley start to the week. Plus, having someone to talk me into the meditative state worked like a dream. I can’t wait to chill out with day two tomorrow.

Do you meditate? What do you find works for you?

4 thoughts on “Feel Good: And Breathe…

  1. Last summer, I tried to start a meditation practice. My yoga teacher told me it would take 40 days to cultivate a new habit, so I tried it. I did it, but once the 40 days was up, I gave up! Like you, I enjoy guided meditation, so maybe this challenge would work for me too!

  2. I use Mala beads and recite a mantra each time I pass a bead. I usually do one round (180 beads) but sometimes simply do a second one if I find that my mind is cluttered and I cannot focus at all. Usually that does the trick.
    I also chant (hoping the neighbours don’t listen) and find that chanting Sanskrit – which essentially I don’t understand even though I get translations for the chants – calms me down. It gives you something to do, but nothing that your mind can engage with.
    But it’s a long journey and there are always days where I find I cannot meditate at all…

Leave a Reply

