Fun: March? It Was a Very Good Month

Image Credit: drakealgar

You may recall that I was excitedly anticipating the advent of March. Now it’s been and gone, was it as good as I wanted it to be?

Well…

The two pay days definitely helped. Admittedly most of that second pay packet went on paying off my credit card bill (darn you Covent Garden and your tempting shops and eateries) and saving for future car costs (MOT, tax and all that jazz). But now I feel a little more in control, which can never be a bad thing, right?

I’m still getting used to driving my car, but I am enjoying it. No more trudging home from work and it means I can get to where I want to go to, when I want to go there – which means dinner with the bestie, a lunchtime trip to the local shopping centre, driving to the train station so I make my train, and that’s just the start!

I’m also still getting used to Hubby’s new car. It’s gorgeous and so comfortable. But my in-car DJ’ing skills (I’m generally put in charge of the stereo on long journeys) leave a little to be desired as I’m still getting used to what all of the buttons do.

Man, my iPhone 5. It’s a little knight in shiny white. I love it. I love it so much that I will probably do a blog post all about it. It’s speedy, sleek and makes my life so, so much easier. And as for Siri – wow! I also escaped from the wrath of Orange at just the right time as they were about to increase the tariff on my old phone.

20130406-100920.jpg

My eye test went really well. That’s another thing I love. Specsavers. Wow, are they good at what they do? And I’m not getting paid to say that either. Their customer service is superb. The optician lady was friendly and professional and ensure all the appropriate tests were carried out in order to monitor my previous issues. I got my prescription and returned there to pick out my glasses a few weeks later. Oh my word! So much choice and such good value! I ended up picking up these Red or Dead beauts for £99 – bargain!

We celebrated Mother’s Day by going for a yummy meal at a local gastro pub. We could have done without the heavy snow flurry on the way home – but the fact that my mom was so chuffed with her gift (a voucher so she can go to the top of The Shard in London) more than made up for that.

20130316-202138.jpg

I’m also loving my new do. Like everything March related it took me a while to get used to and my new fringe has resulted in some comedy styling moments, but it’s just so lovely to have a hairstyle, rather than just having hair.

I celebrated my birthday in style. With a lovely family meal, followed by a shopping trip to London where my lovely Hubby bought me the Orla Kiely bag of my dreams and where I treated myself to some rather lovely clothes, books and an amazing Moomin keyring.

As well as all this, I had a free Drive Confident lesson with the AA. I caught up with an old school friend. I went for a yummy dinner at my besties. We wandered around Homebase picking up items for our en-suite overhaul. We decorated. We went for a delicious Easter Sunday dinner at the Jennie-in-Law’s. I popped to my Mom’s for coffee.

It’s funny isn’t it? It’s so easy to get bogged down in the day-to-day and not give yourself the opportunity to sit back and realise how good life is. Perhaps I’ve stumbled on something here? Give yourself things to look forward to throughout the month and then at the end of the month look back on them. That way you get the excited anticipation and then the opportunity to appreciate the good times when you look back on them.

How was March for you?

Posted in Fun

2 thoughts on “Fun: March? It Was a Very Good Month

  1. Pingback: Fun: Looking Back on 2013 | Fabulous and other f* words

  2. Pingback: F***: Me and My Retinal Detachment | Fabulous and other f* words

Leave a Reply

