Film & TV: Star Trek & Other Stellar Movies

Film Guide

Wowsers, there’s some good movies on at the moment.

Anyone who knows me in the ‘real world’ will attest to the fact that I am, in general, utterly rubbish at keeping up with the latest box office hits (or misses for that matter). Every time I go to the cinema I enjoy it (sitting on my ass for around an hour-and-a-half combined with stuffing my face with Ben and Jerry’s? What’s not to love?) and resolve to visit more frequently. Then months pass between my next visit…

Hubby and I had booked the day after his birthday off work so we could recover from our London shopping trip. When we originally filed our holiday requests we were under the foolish disillusionment that the weather might actually be nice in May and perhaps we could go for a country walk! What were we thinking? It pee’d down and so after a yummy lunch at Halfpenny Green Vineyards we headed to our local Showcase to indulge our inner Trekkies.

Now I’m not a massive Sci Fi fan. Doctor Who? I can take or leave. That said. I loved the last Star Trek film and I loved Into Darkness equally. Yes, it’s a bit cheesy, and, yes, quite predictable – but it’s a big Hollywood blockbuster – what do you expect? Switch off your inner-cynic and enjoy it for what it is. The casting is epic… Simon Pegg as Scotty, Zachary Quinto as Spock (j’adore that the IMDb lists ‘distinctive eyebrows’ as one of his trade marks), Chris Pine as Kirk and ohmigod Benedict Cumberbatch as Khan – perfection*. There’s action, humour, bromance. It’s slick, witty and a damn fine way to spend a sunny afternoon let alone a soggy one. Go see!

Oh and the ice cream? Ben and Jerry’s Phish Food and Caramel Chew Chew (two scoops of each). Delish!

Other ice cream flavours I want to try films I fancy checking out…

Dead Man Down – Collin Farrell, Dominic Cooper, action, gangsters – sounds like my kinda thang.

The Great Gatsby – The soundtrack, the twenties, the glitz, the glamour, the legacy of Baz Luhrmann’s back catalogue – this is one film I cannot wait to see, despite the mixed reviews! No, I’ve not read the book – don’t hate me…

The Hangover Part III – The Hangover franchise is one of the few ‘blokey’ comedy films I enjoy. Most of them have me rolling my eyes ceiling-wards and saying ‘reaallly??’ in a very high-pitched and annoying voice. I watched the first one on recommendation of a former work colleague. I’ll admit it, based on their poor attempts at telling jokes in the office, I was sceptical, but I actually really enjoyed it. I watched part two on the flight back from honeymoon and had to perfect my ‘silent laugh’ to avoid waking up the other passengers. I reckon part three will make the ideal antidote to a hard week at work.

Have you been to the cinema recently? Do you have any recommendations or opinions on these films or any others? Let me know in the comments you lovely people :).

P.S I didn’t go to see the 3D version of Star Trek as 3D gives me a headache. Random, I know. If anyone has seen it in 3D I’d be intrigued to know what they thought.

* Some true Trekkies have disapproved the casting of Khan as being inauthentic alongside the original story. I just took Khan to be a ‘baddie’ and thought Mr Cumberbatch did an ace job. Heck, Confessions of a Shopaholic was set in the States instead of the UK… sometimes Hollywood use a bit of poetic licence.

One thought on “Film & TV: Star Trek & Other Stellar Movies

  1. Pingback: Film: Review: The Great Gatsby | Fabulous and other f* words

Leave a Reply

