Fashion & Faff: Can Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer Cover My Breakouts?

Whatever could I be blogging about next? #heroproduct

A post shared by Samantha Heathcock (@samheathcock) on

When does a pimple become a zit? When does a spot become a boil? When does a boil become a second head for that matter? Yeeh, I’m not a soft and fluffy beauty blogger am I? Sorry about that.

One of the opportunities (if you like to look at life through rose tinted sunnies) of eating rubbish food and not bothering to exercise enough has been that I’ve got to put my concealer through the ultimate test! Oh yes, it’s been break-out city here, let me tell you!

Until recently I was using my teenage staple of Rimmel Hide the Blemish but I didn’t feel it was cutting the mustard any longer. Plus, I wanted to ditch the Touche Eclat in favour of something a little more affordable. So on the recommendation of virtually every beauty blogger everywhere, ever. I thought I would opt for the Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer. After much deliberation and getting into a mess with sample pots I settled on shade 3, medium.

I’d heard great things about this. Fleur de Force raves about it consistently. Would it live up to the hype?

Well, my recent skin breakouts have certainly put it through the ultimate test and I have to say it’s blooming brilliant! I use it to cover up my breakouts, the redness around my nose and also to cover-up my eye bags (gee, I really am a picture of health aren’t I?). The coverage is full without looking cakey and it’s easy to build if you do need more substantial coverage. I use it over the top of foundation, but, if your skin is better than mine, I reckon you could easily use this as a stand alone product to cover up imperfections.

Those of a squeamish nature should probably look away now….

This was one beauty which popped up on my chin last week.

Here it is without make-up (gross, huh?)

Collection_Lasting_Perfection_Concealer_Put_To_The_Test

Here is is with a covering of foundation.

Collection_Lasting_Perfection_Concealer_Put_To_The_Test

And here it is with the Collection concealer and powder. I was really surprised that it covered it so well. Of course, I still had a massive mound on my face but no amount of concealer is going to cover that!

Collection_Lasting_Perfection_Concealer_Put_To_The_Test3

It even does pretty well in terms of longevity. I have very, very oily skin so nothing tends to last massively long for me. But this concealer made it through a very warm wedding evening-do which other concealers wouldn’t have coped with.

Is it a replacement for Touche Eclat? For me it does the job it needs to, but if it’s the luminosity which Touche Eclat delivers that you’re looking for then you may have to look elsewhere. But if you’re looking for a hard-working concealer which does what it says on the tin, then look no further. The fact that it’s such a bargain just adds to its charm.

Fabulous rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

