Furnishings: A Love Letter To My Fridge Freezer

Because white appliances don’t get enough love. 

New fridge freezer excitement! #glittersnap

A post shared by Samantha Heathcock (@samheathcock) on

Fridge and I on our ‘first date’

Dear FF,

I know we’ve not known each other for long, just a few months, in fact. But, already, I can say you’ve made a big impact on me. In some ways you’ve changed my life.

There’s the physical element, of course, when I first saw you I couldn’t help but admire your clean lines. The first time I opened your door I was transfixed by your soft LED light and I couldn’t wait to try out your chrome bottle holder. And, as for your bottom drawer. Well, let’s just say I’ve never had one so big before, nor one that keeps salad so fresh.

That’s right, there have been others before you. The budget brand we bought when we first moved in together. Well, that only lasted as long as the warranty and it never provided for me like you do. I could never rely on it. Frozen food would end up soggy and limp, while fresh food would freeze in the refrigerator. I know I’ve not known you for long but I don’t think you would do that to me. I feel I can trust you.

Then there was the fridge that was loaned to us. It was great, but with no freezer compartment, it just couldn’t give me the opportunities that you can. I always felt as though I was ‘making do’ and just waiting for something better to come along. It was also a bit of a gold digger. I can seem to satiate you without spending too much at Tesco. But the fridge used to guzzle fresh food like there was no tomorrow, which meant lots of trips into town for ‘top-up shops’ and a hefty shopping bill.

I really feel that the possibilities with you are endless and that we’re only just beginning. I love the fact that I can fill you with drinks (both alcoholic and non-alcoholic) and still have stacks of room for food. I’ll be honest, after so many years of making do with Fridge, I didn’t really know what to do when I first found you. That first grocery shop was quite awkward, but now we’ve got to know each other better I feel more comfortable filling you with frozen vegetables, ready meals, chips, battered fish, fish fingers, ice cream… Like I say the possibilities are endless and I’m even starting to experiment a little bit more with you now that we’re better acquainted. I hope you liked the garlic butter that I created the other day? It was a Jamie Oliver recipe. The first of many I hope…

I can’t wait to spend Christmas with you. Fridge was always so miserly. It was impossible to get him to accommodate alcohol, pudding and enough food to host a get together. I think you’ll get much more into the Christmas spirit and be much more prepared to host get togethers with family and friends.

I can really see us growing old together. You make reaching things so easy, I don’t have to bend to get anything out of the fridge and your freezer drawers always allow for easy access… which I love. I also feel there’s room to grow with you. Fridge was always so stifling, but with you I can almost imagine us with a family. I hope that doesn’t cause you to lose your cool?

The fact that you’re so sturdy and strong and taller than me just makes me feel secure.

So, I guess what I’m trying to say is Fridge Freezer, I love you!

All my love,

Sam

4 thoughts on “Furnishings: A Love Letter To My Fridge Freezer

  1. I love how you wrote this one…I wish I had the same love affair with my fridge, or my oven, well actually, my whole kitchen, but perhaps one of these days… I shall be posting something like this (although very unlikely).

  2. Pingback: Fun: Looking Back on 2013 | Fabulous and other f* words

  3. Pingback: Furnishings: Welcome to our Kitchen | Fabulous and other f* words

Leave a Reply

