Fact: Book Review: The Body Book by Cameron Diaz

So I bought this today. #CameronDiaz #TheBodyBook

A post shared by Samantha Heathcock (@samheathcock) on

There was probably no better time for me to read this book than when I was on holiday, sat on my sun lounger exposed to the world in my itsy bits teeny weeny yellow polka dot bikini.*

I’ll admit, when I heard that Cameron D had written a book about health and fitness I was quick to dismiss it as a fluffy tome filled with ‘tricks and tips’ to make you look ‘red carpet ready’ without the hassle. Then I flicked through the book and saw diagrams of cell structure, anatomy lessons and a huge dose of common sense. I was sold.

The Body Book isn’t a diet book. In that it’s essence isn’t about calorie counting and getting to your ‘ideal weight’. It’s about being strong and healthy regardless of your size. Cameron admits you can be super-skinny but terribly unhealthy (something I’ve banged on about before here). She strips things back to basics and startles you with facts. Seriously, if Cameron is to be believed processed food is convenient but also pretty much devoid of any nutritional value. OK, that’s probably not a shock to you. But when she digs deeper and explains why… well I certainly experienced some eyebrow raising moments!

She doesn’t just tackle diet either. There’s also fitness and wellbeing. It’s like an old friend giving you a dose of tough love with a heaped tablespoon of fact and science thrown in, all written in that inimitable bubbly Cameron D style.

If you’re looking for a book that’s going to tell you that being healthy is easy – this isn’t it. If you’re looking for a book that tells it like it is and educates you into making informed choices for your body – jump right in with both feet (and then keep jumping to work up a nice healthy sweat!).

I was really impressed with this book and will be keeping it to hand on my kitchen bookcase to help when I’m meal planning, or simply  use when I just need a bit of inspiration. Thanks Cameron.

*It was also a good time to read this book as the extensive breakfast  buffet meant I could put my new found learnings into practice straight away. Ohhh, hello there pineapple, papaya, banana, coconut water… You get the idea 🙂

Fabulous rating: 5/5

4 thoughts on “Fact: Book Review: The Body Book by Cameron Diaz

  1. Pingback: Fulfilment: My Post Holiday Resolutions | Fabulous and other f* words

  2. Pingback: Far Away Places: Our Hotel in Sri Lanka – The Fortress | Fabulous and other f* words

  3. Pingback: Food: The results of my food diary | Fabulous and other f* words

  4. Pingback: Book Review: The Body Book by Cameron Diaz – Wrinkle Wrinkle Little Star

Leave a Reply

