F***: My Retinal Detachment – An Update

Firstly, I want to say thank you. I was overwhelmed by the support I received from my first post about my experience of retinal detachment, both through this blog and on Facebook. Messages of support from old friends, messages from people who have been (or are going through) similar experiences, a delicious dinner cooked for me by one of those friends who you don’t see that often but know that they’ll always be there for you if you need them. For someone who is used to people reacting with sarcastic jokes about white sticks and cute Labradors it’s quite a shock when people are so supportive! But I really do appreciate it – the support…and the sarcastic jokes! People admonish the lack of community spirit in modern society, but I’m happy to report it’s alive, well and residing on the web. Thanks guys – you’re the best.

So I thought I’d give you a little update. I had my follow-up appointment on 1st March, usual routine: eye chart with the weird blue mask (a kind of NHS masquerade ball?), dilating eye drops, waiting a while for the eye drops to act and then through to my consultant who carried out the original surgeries. I gave him an update and then it was the standard slit lamp drill – look left, look right, look up, look down… The good news: My consultant was really impressed with how well my eye sight has recovered since my original surgeries, apparently he didn’t expect it to be so good! Yay! The bad news… I have another hole in my right eye and some small holes in my left eye, which means I need more laser surgery. The laser surgery isn’t urgent and is simply preventative which is more comforting than being rushed in straight away. I’m still getting occasional flashes, but with the overwhelming support I’m receiving means I’m not feeling so scared now!

4 thoughts on “F***: My Retinal Detachment – An Update

  1. Pingback: Fab & Fail: Sunday 13th April 2014 | Fabulous and other f* words

  2. Pingback: F***: Eye Surgery & Retinal Detachment – Unexpected Side Effects | Fabulous and other f* words

  3. Pingback: F***: Tips For Post Eye Surgery Recovery | Fabulous and other f* words

  4. Pingback: Faff: My Eye Surgery Appointment Came Through! | Fabulous and other f* words

Leave a Reply

