Face & Body: Bioderma Sebium H20 Solution Micellaire Vs L’Oreal Paris Skin Perfection 3 in 1 Purifying Micellar Solution

L'Oreal_Vs_Bioderma

Micellar Solutions (a.k.a the lazy girls choice of make-up removal) have been around for a while, so I appreciate I’m a little late to the decant and swipe party. But now I’ve discovered them, I have to say, I’m a convert.

Let’s get this straight. I have crappy skin – sensitive; yet oily, spotty and blackhead prone (sigh).

I’m also extremely lazy, especially when beddy-byes is a’calling.

I’d been looking for a no fuss, does the job cleanser for a while. Baby wipes didn’t remove the grime, causing even more breakouts. Cleansing balms were just messy. I loved the Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser, but my inability to wash my face without drowning half the bathroom made it impractical. Sometimes I just couldn’t be bothered with the fuss and I’d go to bed with a full face of slap – no good for my skin, or my bed sheets!

And that’s the beauty of Micellar Solutions, they’re so easy to use there’s just no excuse to skip them (especially now we’ve purchased more expensive bedding (if I won’t cleanse for the sake of my skin, I’ll do it for the sake of my John Lewis bed sheets).

My first foray was the L’Oreal Skin Perfection, 3 in 1 Purifying Micellar Solution, a snip at just £4.99 for 200ml. It claims:

Feels as gentle as water on your skin but acts like a make-up remover, toner and skin soother all in one

I found it gentle, yet effective – although I needed to use numerous applications to get rid of a full face of make-up. I also noticed that whilst it wasn’t causing me to break out, it wasn’t really improving my skin either, it was simply cleaning it.

And so I decided to trial the holy grail of Micellar Solutions, Bioderma Sebium H20 Solution Micellaire. This version is designed specifically for combination and oily skin and claims:

Cleanses the skin without drying it, through the micro-emulsions of impurities and excess sebum. Enriched with ultra-purifying active ingredients Sebium H20 cleanses the epidermis in-depth and reduced sebaceous secretion. The patented Fluidactiv complex regulates sebum quality.

First up, this stuff is still annoyingly difficult to come by in the UK. I managed to snag some from Escentual. And at £9.99 for 250ml, it’s almost double the cost of the L’Oreal version. Saying that, it does seem to go further, making the price difference less of an issue. One thing which did concern me was that when I started using Bioderma I also started to break out. Figuring it might just be my skin getting used to the new product I stuck with it and I’m glad I did. By the end of the bottle my skin was clearer, both in terms of spots and also in terms of redness and irritation, even the oil had subsided a little and my skin tone appeared generally brighter. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not a skin saviour (I’m still searching for that holy grail) but it has made a marked difference. I’m now on my fourth bottle and about to purchase my fifth. It’s still working its magic and the fact that it’s so darn easy to use just makes it a no-brainer cleansing solution for a lazy girl like me. On the odd occasion where I have had to switch back to using something else I’ve noticed my skin suffer as a result, so the Bioderma must be doing something.

Is Bioderma worth the extra money? In my opinion, yes. But to be honest if your skin is less problematic, you might find you’re fine with a less pricey cleansing water (just bear in mind you might get through that more quickly than a pricier brand). As for Micellar Solutions Vs other cleansing methods. I’m not saying it’s perfect, but what it is, is easy and, for me at least, if it’s easy there’s more chance of me actually doing it! If you’re equally lazy it’s a no brainer. If you prefer to pamper there’s probably something better.

L’Oreal Fabulous Rating: 2/5

Bioderma Fabulous Rating: 4/5

3 thoughts on “Face & Body: Bioderma Sebium H20 Solution Micellaire Vs L’Oreal Paris Skin Perfection 3 in 1 Purifying Micellar Solution

  1. Pingback: Fab & Fail List: Sunday 30th March 2014 | Fabulous and other f* words

  2. Pingback: Fitness: A Pesky UTI Stops Play | Fabulous and other f* words

  3. Pingback: Fundamentals: Getting the day-to-day done | Fabulous and other f* words

Leave a Reply

