Food: My Accidental Clean Eating Salad

I love a good salad. If you’re rolling your eyes skywards right now, you might want to skip this post. If you’re nodding in agreement, on we go…

I think my love affair with salads started when I was a child. My Nan was queen of salads. The traditional variety – a pile of cucumber on one side of the plate, a heap of lettuce, some juicy tomatoes – all fresh from my Grandad’s greenhouse – served with turkey and a bit splodge of salad cream. When I was older I moved onto mixing salad ingredients together and invented the ‘tossed salad’ which I still make today (I’ll share that recipe with you another time). Even now I’ll often order a yummy, juicy salad when I go out for dinner. It’s the crunch, the flavours – yum!

Anyway, on Saturday I stumbled across a new recipe quite by accident when attempting to rustle up a lunch using leftovers and it’s so yummy and super-healthy that I thought I’d share it with you…

Ingredients

Spinach
Butternut squash
Pine nuts
Button mushrooms
Plum tomatoes

Method

1. Chop the Butternut squash into chunks, cover with olive oil and roast at 200ºC for 30 – 40 minutes, until tender.

2. Meanwhile clean the mushrooms, then chop any large ones into quarters and fry in a little olive oil for a few minutes, until tender.

3. Make a base of Spinach leaves on a plate, add the tomatoes and pine nuts.

4. When the mushrooms and Butternut Squash are cooked add them to the top of the salad (allow some of the juices from the mushrooms to drizzle onto the salad for an impromptu dressing).

5. Sit back and chomp through the lot.

You can also cook this the evening before, let it cool and then store in the fridge for lunch the following day (which is what I’ve been doing all week!). If you do decide to do this, I’d suggest putting the mushrooms and Butternut squash into your lunchbox and then keeping the rest of the ingredients in a sandwich bag to pop on just before you eat it – this saves the Spinach leaves from going mushy.

Best enjoyed with the smug satisfaction of knowing you’re eating a plate-full of goodness. Enjoy!

One thought on “Food: My Accidental Clean Eating Salad

  1. Pingback: Food: Mediterranean Veg, Houmous and Spinach Wraps | Fabulous and other f* words

Leave a Reply

