Faff: You Have The Same Amount of Hours in a Day as Beyonce…Apparently!

You have the same amount of hours in a day as Beyonce

 

You have the same amount of hours in a day as Beyonce.

This saying has been making women feel inadequate for a while now. Kind of ironic when you consider the sentiment was probably intended to be empowering.

I find the saying seems to pop into my mind from time-to-time, usually when I’m knee-deep in some domestic chore, like cleaning the loo, doing an online Tesco shop, or ironing.

See, I do have the same amount of hours in a day as Beyoncé (24 last time I checked), but what I don’t have is her money, or for that matter, her staff.

Whoever said money can’t buy time, frankly, didn’t have enough money. Sure, it can’t buy extra years of your life, or an extra hour in an already packed day. But what money can do is pay for child care, cleaners, drivers, cooks – all those people who take care of the mundane everyday tasks so that you can get on with being fabulous – whether that be devoting time to your career, or things that make you happy.

Of course, Beyoncé should have help. There’s no way in the world she’d be able to do her day job without it and, my god, she’s worked hard enough to earn the money to pay for it. I don’t begrudge her at all. What I do begrudge is women being unhelpful to each other. I thought we were over ‘having it all’. I thought we’d realised that was an insurmountable and foolish ambition, but yet here we are saying ‘Beyoncé does it, you know. What’s your excuse?‘.

Sure, I get the sentiment. If you want to achieve something stop sitting around in your jogging bottoms watching re-runs of Made in Chelsea and do something about it. Use your time wisely. Do things that matter, do things that make a difference, don’t get bogged down in the mundane, but do do the dishes – no one likes a slob!

Yup, there are 24-hours in all of our days – use them wisely!

P.S. I personally prefer my own take on Beyoncé philosophy – take a look here.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

