Food: A Pub Classic: The Scampi Baguette

 

Scampi_Baguette

Back in the day when I was a young lass doing my A-levels, my friend and I used to frequent a pub just down the road from our college of a lunch time. Our meal of choice consisted of a scampi baguette (always pronounced bag-u-ette), followed by a slice of Hanky Panky pie (which I’m fairly certain we only ordered because of its ‘daring’ name), all washed down with a cool half of lager.

A few weeks back, the same lovely friend came over to mine and insisted on cooking me dinner. As much as I told her that she didn’t have to, she insisted and guess what she cooked for me? Yup, a scrumptious scampi baguette, which led us to reminiscing. We couldn’t remember what was even in a Hanky Panky pie and apparently the pub we used to go to is now an Indian restaurant. But that scampi baguette tasted so good. So good in fact that I made it for myself and Hubby last week. He loved it and said it was the perfect meal to accompany the football. It’s not rocket science, but here’s how to recreate that pub classic should you wish to…

Ingredients

1 part-baked baguettes per person
Tar-tare sauceIceberg lettuce
Cucumber
Scampi
Chips

Method

1. Bake the baguettes as per the pack instructions and set aside to cool.

2. Cook the scampi and chips as per the pack instructions.

3. When everything is ready cut open the baguette (cutting it in half too so it makes it easier to eat), smother with tar-tare sauce, add the scampi, pop the cucumber and lettuce on, top with the other half of the baguette, serve with a side of chips and enjoy!

Best enjoyed with a cool beer whilst watching Athletico Madrid hammer Barcelona.

Do you have a meal that brings back happy memories?

 

3 thoughts on “Food: A Pub Classic: The Scampi Baguette

    • Glad I could bring back some memories. I’ll see what I can do on the pub lunch posts :). Glad to see you tried our indigenous food and drink whilst you were here 🙂

  1. Pingback: Fab & Fail: Sunday 20th April 2014 | Fabulous and other f* words

Leave a Reply

