F***: Tips For Post Eye Surgery Recovery

I got bored of putting photos of me with arrows on my head with these articles
and thought this was far more amusing. Enjoy the 80s cheese! 

All eye surgeries are different: some require rest and recuperation, some mean almost continual posturing for up to ten days and with others you’re back to normal within a couple of days.

I had a scleral buckle fitted to my right eye and some cryotherapy in my left under general anaesthetic. I was signed off work for two weeks to recover. My eyes were sore for the first couple of days. After that, they didn’t really hurt, but I found they got tired very easily and my vision was slightly blurry.  It was difficult to know whether this was due to the eye surgery or the amount of eye drops I had to administer!

Here’s the advice I’d give for post-op recovery…

Do…

1. Follow the advice of the healthcare professionals. That surely goes without saying!

2. Ensure you have someone to look after you post-surgery, particularly if you’ve had a general anaesthetic – but regardless – things are likely to be blurry, you’ll need that support.

3. Take it easy. This is the time for rest, not to start ticking tasks off your to do list.

4. Make like a paparazzi fearing celeb. Wearing shades indoors is perfectly acceptable post eye surgery, especially if you’re using dilating eye drop and the sun has got it’s hat on. Likewise it’s fine to shut the sun out by closing your curtains.

5. Invest in some audio books (you might be able to get these for free from your local library). Recovery is boring and your eyes get tired quickly, give them a break by letting someone do the reading for you.

6. Get someone to help you fit your eye guard before you go to bed, if you have to wear one – it’s quite tricky to do on your own!

7. Take baths for the first few days. I found it a more sure-fire way of avoiding getting product near my eyes.

8. Keep topped up on painkillers for as long as you need to. I took a normal dose of paracetamol for the 24-hours after my eye survey and then weaned myself off the following day by taking a half dose. I didn’t need any by day three.

Don’t

1. Be scared to rock up to the hospital if you think something isn’t quite right.

2. Underestimate the time it takes to bathe your eye(s) in the morning. If you’re using a ton of eye drops (like I was) chances are your eyes will get all crusty overnight (oh the glamour), it can take a while (and a fair few tissues soaked in warm water) to de-gunk!

3. Be ashamed of taking afternoon naps. Normally the preserve of Granny’s and Grandad’s the world over. If you’re tired go for it. It’s the body’s way of healing and sometimes it just feels so nice to close your eyes.

5. Be embarrassed about increasing the font size/zoom on your computer/phone, even when you return to work.

6. Worry about housework. I politely declined to do the washing up for a week or so after my eye surgery because I simply couldn’t be sure whether the plates were clean or not. Sadly I can no longer get away with using that as an excuse.

7. Be too proud to ask for help. People wouldn’t offer unless they were prepared to help.

What tips would you add to the list?

Find out about my retinal detachment here and here.

Discover my top tips for visiting the eye hospital here.

Find out how people react when you tell them about your eye problems here.

Learn about the unexpected side effects that I’ve experience here.

Leave a Reply

