Food: The Noodles That Ran Away

Noodles on the Run

via Pinterest

This week, instead of introducing you to a new recipe, I was going to write a review of something of an oddity… a recipe that I’ve added to my Pinterest board that I’ve actually tried!

Unfortunately the Noodles on the Run recipe has done a runner from the SheerLuxe website. But I’ll do my best to recreate the it for you here.

This was another lunch munch and whilst it was good, I don’t think it’s something I’d want everyday. The crunchy vegetables and cashew nuts are lovely and it tastes of pure health. But something about this dish left me bloated – possibly the noodles (the original recipe suggested an ultra-healthy brand which is impossible to track down in the ‘burbs of the Black Country) or the salty Soy Sauce. I’m not sure. I also felt like the dish was missing something, but couldn’t figure out what – any suggestions of what I could add to it would be greatly appreciated you fabulous people.

Ingredients

Noodles
Mange Tout
Carrot – thinly sliced
Cashew nuts
Sliced chilli
Soy sauce

Method

1. Cook the noodles as per the packet instructions. Once cooked drain and rinse in cold water before adding them to your lunchbox.

2. Add the sliced carrot, mange tout and sliced chilli. Pop the top on your lunchbox and keep it in the fridge over night.

3. When lunchtime comes around add the cashew nuts and soy sauce to taste.

Note of warning: This is also very messy to eat, so you may wish to chop up the noodles before putting them in your lunchbox. This should make the dish a little more ‘desk-friendly’. Also don’t bite off more than you can chew. I had an embarrassing moment when a pesky mange tout got caught in my mouth at a weird angle. Not so fabulous!

Best enjoyed: As a way to use up stir fry ingredients.

 

One thought on “Food: The Noodles That Ran Away

  1. Pingback: Food: How I Use Pinterest: Part 2 – Recipes | Fabulous and other f* words

Leave a Reply

