Fiction: Book Review – The Humans by Matt Haig

My latest read. #summerreading #books #TheHumans #MattHaig #lbloggers

A post shared by Samantha Heathcock (@samheathcock) on

I’m not quite sure what happened with this book, it almost stalked me. Firstly a follow from its author Matt Haig on Twitter aroused my interest, followed by switching on Radio 2 one evening to hear them talking about The Humans. It was the book I couldn’t escape, and feeling that someone (possibly some clever marketers) was trying to tell me something I relented and hit-up Amazon for my own copy. I’m glad I did.

As the blurb says:

Professor Andrew Martin is not feeling quite himself.

I won’t spoil the plot for you by telling you why, although I will say it won’t take you very long to figure that out for yourself once you start reading.

With short, punchy, humorous chapters this book is an easy read. In fact, I found myself finishing it in a couple of days. But aside from that it’s a really, really clever way of questioning what it is to be human, why it is that we submit to certain social expectations and what is actually really important to us. Matt Haig manages to question some deep topics in such a humorous way, it’s comforting, uplifting and if you don’t feel alive after reading this, then, well, you’re probably dead (on the inside at least). The 97 pieces of ‘Advice for a Human’ are as genius as they are true.

Thought provoking, but without the flouncy deepness and with a whole host of laugh out loud moments. I’m glad this book stalked me until I relented and read it. You should do the same.

Fabulous rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

